To be convicted of Arson in Iowa, the prosecution has to prove that a person caused a fire or explosion, or placed any burning or combustible material, or any incendiary or explosive device or material, in or near any property with the intent to destroy or damage such property, or with the knowledge that such property will probably be destroyed or damaged.
Arson in the 1st Degree is a Class “B” Felony. Class “B” felonies are punishable by confinement for no more than 25 years.
Arson in the 2nd Degree is a Class “C” Felony. Class “C” felonies are punishable by confinement for no more than 10 years and a minimum fine of $1,000 but not more than $10,000.
Arson in the 3rd Degree is an Aggravated Misdemeanor. The penalty for an aggravated misdemeanor is imprisonment not to exceed two years and a fine of not less than $625, but not more than $6,250. The court may impose a sentence of confinement for a determinate term of one year or less to be served in the county jail in lieu of prison.
ANDERSON & TAYLOR, Iowa Criminal Defense Attorneys
If you are charged with arson, a Criminal Defense Attorney from Anderson & Taylor, PLLC can fight for your rights to ensure you get the best outcome in your case. Our lawyers can push back against accusations of arson, utilizing their skill and experience in the courtroom to defend against these charges. Anderson & Taylor also utilize skilled professionals in investigation and expert testimony. Call us today at (515) 282-8637 to set up a free consultation.
We represent those accused in Des Moines, Polk County, Marion County, Dallas County, Warren County, Story County, Madison County, and throughout the State of Iowa.